Fear and Backsliding


I’m feeling fear about backsliding. I’ve lost muscle mass that I worked so hard to build up. I know that it is a process. I’m wondering: am I alone here? Please leave comments about your experience. Thanks!

Video

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sho'Nuff Sistuh
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 16:03:19

    I appreciate the honesty and rawness you’ve shared with us here. I do fear so very poorly, I am apt to simply stop trying rather than face the possibility of continual self-disappointment. I have all sorts of tricks I use to prevent my students in the classroom from indulging in such a self-defeating behaviour. I can’t find a trick, it seems, to prevent me from doing the same. I wonder what paradigm shift needs to happen to help me see my relationship with my body, with movement, with my body moving in the public space…to be radically different. Because whatever it is I’ve been doing for the last 47 years? It just isn’t working.

    Reply

    • Allegra Knight
      Jul 08, 2013 @ 16:07:27

      I appreciate your honesty. For me, it was merely confessing this difficulty that helped me break through the ‘stuckness’ (did I just make up that word?). I promise to do a post about my philosophy on the Leap of Faith soon. You may find it helpful.
      Thank you for all your love and support! Believe it or not, you have truly helped give me the courage to do this. ❤

      Reply

    • Allegra Knight
      Jul 29, 2013 @ 14:58:59

      I am so grateful that Sarah brought us together. Believe it or not, you are an inspiration to me. You may feel stuck but I see you moving forward and getting stronger. It does not usually happen overnight. Have you tried affirmations yet? When my mother would get stuck over something, she would record affirmations for herself and play them while she slept. She was a 2 pack-a-day smoker for 30+ years and was able to quit that way. Let me know if you want more information on this technique.

      Reply

  2. "Polly"
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 17:07:49

    You are NOT alone! The conscious quest to improve my health by improving my physical conditioning started over fifteen years ago. It has been a bumpy ride, filled with interruptions, the last of which lasted about 3.5 years because of plantar fasciitis. The most important thing I have learned is that it doesn’t matter how much you do, but that you do the very best you are capable of doing when you have enough energy to do something.

    Reply

    • Allegra Knight
      Jul 29, 2013 @ 15:01:37

      Thank you for checking out my vlog and commenting. Your journey in many ways, mirrors mine. Believe it or not, your continuing to search for health gives me strength to continue my battle. Thank you for all your love and support!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

