Napping: to do or not to do?


I used to be the best napper. Seriously, I could lay down on the couch, in the middle of the day, in a busy apartment, fall asleep immediately, power nap for 15 minutes and wake completely refreshed.

In my post-Lyme life, this is one of the many things stolen from me. Post-Lyme I have to power through because I know as soon as I lay down, I’m down for the rest of the day. At this exact moment I’m tired: I’ve accomplished a lot today and I am spent. In my pre-Lyme life, I would lay down and take a 15-30 minute nap and get back to work. Post-Lyme, I fear that I will lose momentum.

This leaves me with the question: to nap or not to nap?

What would you do? Leave your response in the comments section below. I love hearing from all of you!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 17:46:32

    Pre-Lyme, I never took naps. Post-Lyme for quite awhile I took naps every day and it felt like I was sleeping my life away. In the past year intentionally reduced naps, so I typically take a nap 2-3 days per week. This occurs when I know that if I don’t nap, there will be little accomplished anyways due to how tired I feel and the lack of focus. I also know to plan when I do something “extra” such as a social engagement or cleaning the house, to plan time to rest in the days following.

    Reply

  2. The Person Next to You
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 20:23:55

    My son is the one with Lyme/Babesia/Bartonella. He never napped even as a toddler… he is 9 now, and can fall asleep in the car during a LONG ride.

    Reply

  3. Colleen
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 22:55:35

    Not funny but yep me too…
    On a good cycle I can stay awake and keep buisy all day. But If I overexert (do 1/8th what I used to the next day I find I need a half day nap. so go slow all day or go all out and take the next day off?
    I’ve tried to slowly keep going and just do what I can until I feel my body getting tired then just stop. I can get a couple of days like that but with cleaning up tools and things every time I use them (or they stay cluttering the areas while I recuperate which could be a week or more.) I just use more energy with the cleaning up.
    During the bad cycles tho’ I have gotten so I just fall over so between 2-4 I struggle to make 4 and then just out for over an hour sometimes much more…I just keep trying something hoping to find something that will work without just giving up. (exercise & strenuous work like digging our garden post holes helps me sweat the toxins out) If I can keep that up I feel my best. except for the water buckets of sweat.
    NONE of this I have ever done in the past. I always kept going from 6-9 outside and then to 11 or midnight sideline work on the computer. Now the eyes see double vision on here so that time is cut short too. Takes all day to get my eyes back for far away viewing.

    Reply

  4. jeanvieve7
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 00:25:37

    I have never been able to nap, even if I tried. In my worst days of Lyme my days were just much shorter, sleeping a lot longer, I do really need at least 9 hours though,or I pay for it

    Reply

  5. Polly Sighs
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 21:44:59

    Depends, I power through it if I KNOW that I have time for a rest period in the next day or so. Mostly, I just juggle priorities, doing what MUST be done first, asking for help, and sometimes paying for it if necessary. I’m not sure if I had post Lyme, but I’ve been this way since 1986.

    Reply

  6. missrory
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 08:03:20

    I’m unable to nap. It takes a cocktail of 7 different drugs to get me to sleep at all, and even then my brain never gets below stage 2, so i am always exhausted. Midday naps are not really possible because without the meds I DO NOT sleep. However, i do take the time to take two rest periods during each day. I lay down, i close my eyes and meditate or pray and it helps me to feel a little better than pushing through the day unrested.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

