“I Have a Dream” and Mantras


I have a confession: I don’t have a mantra*. This is not to say that I haven’t meditated with a mantra but many spiritually inclined people have a personal mantra that is theirs.  I have “tried on” many of the traditional mantras, but none felt quite right for me.

Today is the 50th anniversary of Dr Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I have a Dream” speech. In my Art of Teaching class today we watched his speech and the mantra “I have a dream” truly resonated for me. I plan on trying it out for a few weeks and see how it fits.

(channeling my best Rev King)

  • I have a dream that I will regain my life.
  • I have a dream that I will be able to support myself.
  • I have a dream that awareness about Lyme Disease and its long term effects will become recognized.
  • I have a dream that we will all return to health and wellness; that we all will over come the suffering that this unseen illness bears down upon us.
  • I have a dream that I will be able think clearly, unburdened by Lyme brain fog.
  • I have a dream that I will be strong again.

I will report back and let you know how it goes- if it still speaks to my heart or if I will continue to search for my mantra.

*Mantra: a word or sound repeated to aid in concentration during meditation or times of stress. I will discuss mantras more in future posts.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marti
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 22:47:12

    Brilliant! Thanks for posting! You are inspiring! ❤

    Reply

  2. jeanvieve7
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 01:11:55

    You chose wisely 🙂

    Reply

  3. Polly Sighs
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 07:08:18

    I think that is just wonderful! In so many ways, you are such an inspiration to me.

    I’m revisiting the practice of meditation right now and I”m finding it does help when I make the time for it. I would love to learn more about TM, but can’t afford the cost :-(.

    Reply

    • Allegra Knight
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 17:31:40

      You also inspire me! Your struggle has been going on so much longer than mine. And here you are returning to the working world! It gives me hope.
      My neural feedback doctor really wants me to meditate 5 minutes a day. In all honesty, I forget most days. I don’t know why I neglect such an easy way to care for myself.
      Do you have to pay to learn TM? Can’t you just get a book or listen to a tape?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

