The Starfish Story: one step towards changing the world


I’ve always lived this parable. Sometimes our actions may seem futile, but I know that if I can help one person that I’ve made a difference. As Mother Teresa said, “Not all of us can do great things, but we can we do small things with great love.”

EventsForChange

You may have heard this one, but I find that it doesn’t hurt to be reminded of it every once in a while.  First let me tell you the story, and then we can talk about it. 

Once upon a time, there was an old man who used to go to the ocean to do his writing. He had a habit of walking on the beach every morning before he began his work. Early one morning, he was walking along the shore after a big storm had passed and found the vast beach littered with starfish as far as the eye could see, stretching in both directions. 

Off in the distance, the old man noticed a small boy approaching.  As the boy walked, he paused every so often and as he grew closer, the man could see that he was occasionally bending down to pick up an object and throw it into the sea.  The boy came closer still and the man…

View original post 330 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    May 15, 2015 @ 23:11:23

    So funny to see this. I was just telling the story to someone earlier. I tend to make comments like “one starfish at a time.” Then I realize from their awkward smile that they have no idea what I’m talking about. 8)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

